Plug & Study Home

Short Facts

Estimated data

Project completion 2018
Residential units 93
Residential space in sqm 2.130

Plug & Study Home

Köln-Ehrenfeld

In the corner of Melatengürtel / Grüner Weg on the project property “WEKO“ a residential building with a total of 93 student apartments on four floors and a staggered storey is being erected on approx. 1,300 sqm. The apartments are between 20-25 sqm and fully furnished. A planned library, a recreation room, a laundry room as well as underground parking spaces and parking spaces for bicycles may not be missing in the everyday life of the students as well.

The development measures will be carried out by Stefan Frey AG, that has meanwhile taken over the shares of Convalor in the project company. After the demolition of vacant halls of the former office furniture factory “WEKO“, the construction has began in 2017 after the building permit has been granted. The apartments are expected to be completed by August 2018 with the objective of letting the students move into their apartment on time for the winter term.

Especially Cologne is one of the German university cities where high school students have a particularly hard time finding an accommodation during their studies. More and more property developers are trying to close this gap with centrally located apartments.

Back Place

Plug & Study Home

Kurzfakten zum Projekt

Angaben geschätzt

Projektabschluss 2018
Wohneinheiten 93
Wohnfläche in qm 2.130

Plug & Study Home

Köln-Ehrenfeld

Im Bauabschnitt Ecke Melatengürtel/Grüner Weg des WEKO-Projektgrundstücks entsteht ein Wohngebäude mit studentisch genutzten Appartements auf vier Etagen plus Staffelgeschoss. Zwischen 20-25 qm groß werden die insgesamt 93 Wohnungen und sind komfortabel möbliert. Eine Bibliothek, ein Aufenthaltsraum, ein Waschkeller sowie Tiefgaragenplätze und Abstellplätze für Fahrräder dürfen für den Alltag der Studenten ebenfalls nicht fehlen.

Die Entwicklungsmaßnahmen werden von der Stefan Frey AG, die die Beteiligung von Convalor an der Projektgesellschaft derweil übernommen hat, auf rd. 1.300 qm durchgeführt. Nach Beendigung der Abbrucharbeiten der seit Jahren leerstehenden Aufbauten und Hallen der ehemaligen Büromöbelfabrik WEKO wurde nach erteilter Baugenehmigung in 2017 mit dem Bau begonnen. Bis August 2018 sollen die Wohnungen fertiggestellt werden, so dass die Studenten pünktlich zum Wintersemester in ihr ,,Zwischenheim" einziehen können.

Laut einer Studie von JLL gehört Köln zu den sechs deutschen Hochschulstädten, in denen es Hochschüler aufgrund dem starken Studierendenzuwachs besonders schwer haben werden, Wohnraum während der Zeit ihres Studiums zu finden. Diese Lücke versuchen immer mehr Bauträger mit zentral gelegenen Appartements zu schließen.

Zurück Lage